beantwoord

Cancelling my subscription from Abroad- Help needed

• 11 januari 2018
  • 18 reacties
  • 226 Bekeken

Hi,

I was a student on exchange in Year 2016 and I subscripted to the OV-chipkart. As I didn't know that it will be automatically renewed every year, I received an email last year stating an overdue payment reminder of 90 euros from NS. As such, they have also transferred to the debt collection agency, Syncasso. As I admit that it is partially my fault for not knowing that the subscription is automatically renewed, I made the payment to Syncasso.

After the payment was made, the NS staff acknowledged that the payment has made and proceeded to do a refund. A refund of 44.25 euros will be made to me and will take up to 8 weeks for them to process. I have given them the details of my bank account for the refund. However, this evening, I received an email from the NS staff that my payment of 90 euros wasn't made to Syncasso.

Please advise me on what to do as it is very difficult for me to communicate with both the Syncasso and I have already made the payment. I hope everything can be settled by now.

Thank you for your help!! I have left the Netherlands and couldn't make a direct visit to the office to settle on this matter.

Joe Ng
icon

Beste antwoord door Robert B 11 januari 2018, 21:43

Hi Joe,

This from an outsider (I'm not NS staff but close enough to know what I'm talking about).

If you had to pay € 90,- you most likely had a Dal Voordeel (40% off peak reduction) subscription which costs € 50,- and was automatically prolonged just like any other yearly subscription.

Syncasso added a (legal) € 40,- minimum collection fee to that amount, which explains the € 90,-

I didn't invent the concept (and don't laugh now) but you should have cancelled the subscription AND confirm that by presenting your card at a ticket machine to 'pick up order' so it would be erased/removed from your card.