Looking for a driver.

• 12 oktober 2020
  • 21 reacties
  • 1127 Bekeken

Hello. I’m an artist from Portugal and been painting a commission of a train called Apekop. I’ve been doing some research and I found a footage of the last ride from 2016. I saw a interview from the driver called Gerrit van der Steeg. And I ended up making also a portrait of him. I would like to know if you have a contact with him so I could send him the painting. Thanks in Advance. Here’s a photo before finishing. 

I paint mostly portraits of trains if anyone wants to check it ou: Danielgrita(Instagram)

21 reacties

Hi DanielGrita and welcome to the NS Community! 

First off, what a lovely picture! I am a big fan of art and I love what you have created here! Then about your quest. You are trying to look for a specific conductor we have had. We have some staff members here on the community that might be of help to you, but to help the search I have a question. First of, do you might know what station this conductor was working on? Even the area might help me with this search. Would you happen to know this?

Reputatie 7
Badge

First of all, this man is a ticket inspector, in Dutch called Conducteur.

I've sent Sanne a private message to try and help her on her way.

Indeed, I received the private message and I am going to try and see if I can find anything for you! We are expected that he is retired, but I am going to see if I can get in contact with the right station manager and help you get the painting to them!

Badge +3

Nowadays, train manager (used internationally) or simply ‘host’ is a more appropriate term, similar to flight attendant vs. sterward(ess) on airplanes. It's basically the same.

Hopefully, the man in the painting can be found.

Reputatie 7
Badge +3

In dit filmpje wordt-ie geïnterviewd (0:45). Moet niet zo moeilijk te vinden zijn, lijkt me.

edit: O wacht, Engelstalig topic. In this video he was interviewed (0:45). Should not be too hard to find him, I think.

Badge +3