Does the subscription upgraded automatically? | NS Community
beantwoord

Does the subscription upgraded automatically?

• 6 May 2023
  • 5 reacties
  • 101 Bekeken

Hello, 

I have a question with my subscription. I bought the 2nd class weekend subscription on 22th of April. I switch my class into 30th of April via NS App on my phone. I thought it means that I upgraded my subscription to 1st class weekend subscription, but the cost appears to be € 34.95 for the subscription and € 18.69 for Travel and other costs in my travel history. And I also switch on the 1st class option on the other days which has not appeared in my travel history yet… I am extremely worried about that I would have to pay crazy amount of money for that, since I traveled a lot with the same situation this weekend. I am extremely anxious and super worried… 

icon

Beste antwoord door Tochjo 6 May 2023, 23:28

Bekijk origineel

5 reacties

Badge +3

There are two ways to upgrade to first class.

The first way is what you have done, by selecting first class in Mijn NS/the app. When you do this, you don't upgrade to the first class for a fixed rate, but you pay a small amount each time you travel. During weekends, this is 42 percent of the second-class fare.

The second way is by selecting the option to upgrade to first class when you buy or change your subscription. Then you pay a fixed rate to be able to travel first class during weekends, and you don't have to pay for every journey.

The first way is cheaper if you want to travel first class only a few times, or travel short distances. The second way is cheaper if you travel a lot. In your case, if you travelled a lot, you will now pay more than you would have if you had upgraded your subscription.